Thank you Dad

There are things in the world that has nothing to with one’s gender. I’ve seen people comment about a woman doing something that the society terms as being wrong, at the same time accepting whole-heartily a man doing it. It is sad that women in the present are told what-to-do and what-not-to-do, irrespective of whether it is her will or not. I do not stand for this mentality. For me, doing an activity that pleases me is important as opposed to what society thinks. Now, don’t get me wrong, I know where to draw a line but I do not tolerate a sexist, male-biased comment that degrades women!

I am thankful I am of this opinion. I know many friends who do not dare follow this and are unhappy. I am thankful to the wonderful parenting that I received as a child, thankful to my parents, who taught me to be free, independent and confident in what I believe in. To my Dad, I’d say you’ve always been my pillar of strength and my undying source of inspiration.

It was last year in June that I started working at my present firm and I had to get him something special as a token of my appreciation, for all the hard work, time and effort that he put into me to make me this person that I am today. I was home for the weekend, first time since I started working and I took back home a bottle of the Black Dog Quintessence.

BlackDog-logo

7

I found just the perfect moment to hand it over to him, in his hand, gift wrapped, with a bow. I told him, “Thank you!” He felt proud and understood the gesture. I could see a layer of shiny liquid in his eye but at the risk sounding completely emotionless, I said, “Are we going to drink that or what?” To this he laughed and asked me to get his collector edition whisky glasses. We had a good time unwinding and relaxing, talking about life, plans and things of the past. It was a beautiful night to remember. It brought the two of us closer than ever before. I’m thankful he understood who I am, not a girl-child with responsibilities but an individual who dreamed of things big and always carved ways for me to reach them.

Thank you Dad.

Disclaimer – The content is meant only for people above the age of 25. All views and mentions here are personal.

Leave a Reply

